Generated with Avocode. Generated with Avocode.
2nd June 2024 Representative

Academy youngster Jack Brassell in Namibia squad for ICC Men’s T20 World Cup

Durham Academy seamer Jack Brasell is part of the Namibia squad for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup which gets underway this week.

Brasell who impressed for their national Under 19s side is named in a 15-player squad and get their campaign underway against Oman on Monday 3 June at 1:30am GMT.

The 19-year-old has played 10 times for Namibia picking up 8 wickets across both T20 and ODI cricket for the Eagles.

Talented all-rounder Gerhard Erasmus has been named captain as Namibia revealed their squad for next month’s ICC Men’s T20 World Cup.

Erasmus will lead an experienced group that qualified for the ninth edition of the T20 World Cup courtesy of an unbeaten run at last year’s ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Africa Qualifier on home soil with JJ Smit named vice-captain.

Twelve of the 15 players that featured in that impressive run during qualifying have once again won selection in Namibia’s 15-player squad, with all-rounder Nicol Loftie-Eaton the biggest omission alongside veteran Pikky Ya France and young batter Shawn Fouche.

Loftie-Eaton created headlines in February when he smashed the fastest T20I century in the history of men’s cricket with a 33-ball effort against Nepal, but the 23-year-old is overlooked for June’s tournament that will be co-hosted by the USA and West Indies.

Inexperienced seamer Dylan Leicher, left-arm quick Ruben Trumpelmann and teenage pacer Jack Brassell, who featured in the ICC Men’s U19 Cricket World Cup earlier this year, are the players promoted to the squad that didn’t feature in the qualifier tournament.

Namibia are drawn in Group B in what will be their third consecutive appearance at the T20 World Cup, with the African nation to play Oman in their tournament opener in Barbados on June 2 and further fixtures against Scotland, Australia and England.

Namibia squad: Gerhard Erasmus (c), Zane Green, Michael Van Lingen, Dylan Leicher, Ruben Trumpelmann, Jack Brassell, Ben Shikongo, Tangeni Lungameni, Niko Davin, JJ Smit, Jan Frylinck, JP Kotze, David Wiese, Bernard Scholtz, Malan Kruger, PD Blignaut

Related Articles


Durham boys’ beat Cumbria and Lincolnshire to go three wins from three in the ECB Under 16’s County Cup


Tony Birbeck named in England over 60s squad to face Pakistan


Ben McKinney named in First-Class County Select XI to face West Indies


James Minto named in England Young Lions Invitational squad