Generated with Avocode. Generated with Avocode.
2nd June 2009

Yorkshire Carnegie v Durham Dynamos

It was very humid at Headingley on arrival and as the team warmed up there were drops of rain but nothing that would cause any delays.  Will Smith continued his success at the toss, winning and electing to bat first.

Deon Kruis opened the bowling from the Rugby End, with Phil Mustard facing the first ball.  The Dynamos were 7-1 after Rana Naved trapped Michael Di Venuto (5)  lbw with his sixth ball.  Gordon Muchall got off the mark with some big hitting and after 16 balls he had 25 runs to his name.  Phil Mustard was bowled by Tim Bresnan for 5 leaving Durham 35-1 off their first five overs.

The Dynamos were 40-3 after Muchall was trapped lbw by Shahzad in his opening over.   Will Smith added 20 but was bowled by Wainwright after three overs at the crease.   Benkenstein and Blackwell’s partnership came to an end when Blackwell (4) was caught right on the boundary by Kruis.  

The Dynamos reached the hundred mark in the 17th over.  Gareth Breese was Naved’s second victim after he was bowled on 5.  Durham lost two wickets in the final over of Bresnan’s spell with Ben Harmison run out by Vaughan, and Dale Benkenstein (36) caught by Gale on the next ball.

Mitchell Claydon (5) and Graham Onions (3) completed the last over with Durham setting Yorkshire a target of 116.

Mitchell Claydon, who was bowling from the Rugby End, picked up the first wicket of the night when Andrew Gale was caught at deep mid wicket on 19 by Gordon Muchall.  Michael Vaughan was run out without facing a ball in the same over leaving Yorkshire 30-2.

By the seventh over Durham had started to restrict Yorkshire to just under their required run rate with McGrath and Rudolph scoring slowly.  After 10 overs Yorkshire were 58-2.  Rudolph (11) was caught behind off the bowling of Ben Harmison and at that time the hosts were just 8 runs behind Durham’s score at the same stage in their innings.

Anthony McGrath reached 34 before he was caught comfortably at long on by Dynamos captain Will Smith in Claydon’s third over, taking his haul in Twenty20 this year to nine wickets.

Ben Harmison’s change to the Kirkstall Lane End proved successful when he bowled Adam Lyth leaving Yorkshire 76-6, a run rate of 6.83 required.  Neil Killeen returned at the Rugby End to bowl the fifteenth over and trapped Naved lbw for 8 with his first ball.

Ian Blackwell returned to the Kirkstall Lane End to bowl the next over and picked up the wicket of Shahzad, who was stumped on 8.  Yorkshire needed 7 off the last over to claim victory and were 115-8 after Simon Guy (13) was caught by Di Venuto on the fourth delivery.  The hosts managed to scramble two singles off the last two balls to win the match by two wickets.

Head Coach Geoff Cook gave us his thoughts after the match, “It was a fantastic effort in the field the general competitiveness was brilliant, even with the bat to a to a large extent we played pretty well, it wasn’t perfect by any stretch, we got ourselves into some good positions but lost wickets at vital times.  

“Credit to their overseas player Rana Naved, he bowled absolutely brilliantly and we found it difficult to get it away.  We probably fell 25-30 runs short of what we would have liked but the effort in the field, the skill of the bowlers and the competitiveness in the field was absolutely first class.  

“We could have won the game, we had two opportunities to win, but there was a drop catch which was pretty crucial and a misfield in the last over which again was really crucial when they needed two to win from the last two balls.  Those are moments whilst disappointing you accept them as part of the game, but you have to look at the bigger picture, to give ourselves two chances to win when defending a total of 116 just shows a lot of credit to the eleven on the field.”


Phil Mustard (19) Wicket keeper
Michael Di Venuto (23)
Will Smith (2) Captain
Ian Blackwell (37)
Dale Benkenstein (44)
Gordon Muchall (24)
Gareth Breese (70)
Ben Harmison (14)
Mitchell Claydon (25)
Graham Onions (9)
Neil Killeen (77)
Will Gidman (21) Twelfth man