Generated with Avocode. Generated with Avocode.
25th May 2009

Twenty20…it starts with a win

Samit Patel was bowled by Killeen for 13 leaving Notts 55-4.  Will Jefferson posted his highest score in the Twenty20 Cup to date with 75 runs off 48 balls before he became Claydon’s second victim thanks to a fine catch by Will Smith.

Notts were 160-6 after Smith picked up his second catch, this time off the bowling of Neil Killeen, sending O’Brien back to the pavilion after adding just two runs to the score. 

Chris Read (43) and Mark Ealham (3) batted out the remainder of the innings guiding the Outlaws to a final total of 163-6.

Neil Killeen finished with the pick of the bowling figures having picked up three wickets for 21 runs off his 4 overs. 

Luke Fletcher and Darren Pattison both struck twice early on in the Durham innings, Fletcher claiming the wickets of opener Phil Mustard (0), who was caught by Alex Hales, and also Will Smith (6) who was caught by Chris Read. 

Pattison had Kyle Coetzer (0) caught by Jason Brown and claimed the wicket of Michael Di Venuto, who added a swift 20 to the Durham score, before being bowled.

After some big hitting from Dale Benkenstein and Ian Blackwell Durham edged slowly beyond the run rate required should Duckworth/Llewis be implemented, which was looking increasingly likely to come into play as the clouds darkened over the ground.

Benkenstein reached the fifty mark after just 29 balls, which included six fours and three sixes, a landmark that also pushed the fifth wicket partnership past the 100 mark.  Benkenstein (53) was caught by Will Jefferson off the bowling of Pattison a few balls later, bringing Gareth Breese to the crease with Durham requiring 34 runs off 6.3 overs.

Ian Blackwell celebrated his fifty (off 28 balls) in the 15th over before Kevin O’Brien, who was making his Notts debut, claimed two wickets, those of Gareth Breese (4), who was caught by Read, and Blackwell (59) who was caught by Brown, a spell which left Durham 150-7.

Gordon Muchall was trapped lbw by Mark Ealham for 8, bringing Graham Onions to the crease alongside Mitchell Claydon, with four balls remaining.  The Notts crowd became particularly vocal in the last over clapping as the bowlers began their run up.   Onions was run out by a direct hit Voges on the penultimate ball of the match, with the scores tied and in an especially tense finish, Claydon was jubilant at hitting the last ball for a four securing a win for the Dynamos ahead of their first home match on Tuesday.


Phil Mustard (19) Wkt
Michael Di Venuto (23)
Kyle Coetzer (30)
Will Smith (2) Capt
Ian Blackwell (37)
Dale Benkenstein (44)
Gareth Breese (70)
Will Gidman (21)
Neil Killeen (77)
Graham Onions (9)
Mitchell Claydon (25)
Scott Borthwick (16)
Ben Harmison (14)
Gordon Muchall (24)