Generated with Avocode. Generated with Avocode.
4th August 2009

Three Durham Players In 4th npower Ashes Test Squad

The squad includes the eleven players who featured in the drawn 3rd Test at Edgbaston together with pace bowlers Stephen Harmison and Ryan Sidebottom, and the uncapped Warwickshire batsman Jonathan Trott.

ECB National Selector, Geoff Miller, said: “In choosing our squad for this Test Match, we decided to omit  a second spinner as Headingley is not usually a ground where two spinners are required and therefore Monty Panesar misses out on selection this time.

“We will need to carefully assess the pitch and the overhead conditions at Headingley before finalising our eleven for this Test and the inclusion of Stephen Harmison and Ryan Sidebottom will give us different types of pace bowling options.

“Jonathan Trott has also performed really well for Warwickshire this season and his place in the squad is fully deserved. His inclusion will provide us with the option of playing six batsmen if we feel this is appropriate.

“We will continue to closely monitor Andrew Flintoff’s fitness in the build-up-up to Headingley. His right knee will be reassessed by our medical staff over the next forty-eight hours and no final decision on his availability will be taken until closer to the start of the Test Match.”

The full squad is:

Andrew Strauss (capt)                        Middlesex
James Anderson                                  Lancashire
Ian Bell                                                  Warwickshire
Ravi Bopara                                          Essex
Stuart Broad                                         Nottinghamshire
Paul Collingwood                                  Durham
Alastair Cook                                        Essex
Andrew Flintoff                                    Lancashire
Stephen Harmison                               Durham
Graham Onions                                   Durham
Matt Prior                                             Sussex
Ryan Sidebottom                                 Nottinghamshire
Graeme Swann                                   Nottinghamshire
Jonathan Trott                                     Warwickshire