Generated with Avocode. Generated with Avocode.
22nd June 2009

Onions and Harmison named in Lions squad

Following their outstanding performances in the past few weeks Durham seamers Graham Onions and Stephen Harmison are included in the England Lions side, which will be captained by Ian Bell for the four-day tour match against Australia at Worcester also starting on July 1st.

Commenting on the selection, National Selector Geoff Miller said: “The pre-Ashes camp is designed to give Andy Flower and the rest of the management team an opportunity to meet with the players ahead of their series and begin their preparations in earnest.

“We will continue to consider players outside the 16 chosen for the camp and will closely monitor performances in domestic cricket as the international season progresses. The door has not been closed on any player at this stage.

“We have chosen two spinners in our side to face Warwickshire, but this does not necessarily mean that we will opt for the same balance in our bowling attack in the 1st npower Ashes Test. An extra pace bowler still remains an option for our starting line-up at Cardiff.

“In choosing the two teams for the matches at Edgbaston and Worcester, we were also mindful of the need to field a very strong England Lions side against Australia and the inclusion of four bowlers with Test Match experience and Ian Bell as captain demonstrates this.

“We are keen to make the match at Worcester a tough one for Australia and plan to give all the players in the Lions team the maximum opportunity to press their case for selection. As a consequence, we will now be announcing our squad for the 1st npower Ashes Test on Sunday, July 5th – 24 hours later than originally planned.”

1. Andrew Strauss (captain)   (Middlesex)
2. James Anderson  (Lancashire)
3. Ian Bell   (Warwickshire)
4. Ravinder Bopara  (Essex)
5. Tim Bresnan   (Yorkshire)
6. Stuart Broad   (Nottinghamshire)
7. Paul Collingwood  (Durham)
8. Alastair Cook   (Essex)
9. Andrew Flintoff  (Lancashire)
10. Graham Onions  (Durham)
11. Monty Panesar  (Northamptonshire)
12. Kevin Pietersen  (Hampshire)
13. Matt Prior   (Sussex)
14. Adil Rashid   (Yorkshire)
15. Ryan Sidebottom  (Nottinghamshire)
16. Graeme Swann  (Nottinghamshire)

Andrew Strauss (captain)
James Anderson
Stuart Broad
Ravi Bopara
Paul Collingwood
Alastair Cook
Andrew Flintoff
Monty Panesar
Kevin Pietersen
Matt Prior
Graeme Swann

Ian Bell (captain)   (Warwickshire)
Tim Bresnan    (Yorkshire)
Joe Denly    (Kent)
Steven Davies    (Worcestershire)
Stephen Harmison   (Durham)
Sajid Mahmood   (Lancashire)
Stephen Moore   (Worcestershire)
Eoin Morgan    (Middlesex)
Graham Onions   (Durham)
Adil Rashid    (Yorkshire)
Vikram Solanki   (Worcestershire)