Generated with Avocode. Generated with Avocode.
22nd April 2009

Mustard and Blackwell keep Durham on track

Durham finished day one of their opening LV County Championship match on 303-7 after big contributions from Ian Blackwell (96) and Phil Mustard (62*) who will return to the crease alongside Callum Thorp (24*) in the morning.

Phil was pleased to get his first significant score of the season under his belt and to have contributed to steadying the ship after Durham had lost five wickets for 129 runs, “Hopefully we’ve put us in a good position.  I’ve had a tough pre season, I haven’t been getting too many runs so I had to spend time in the crease and play myself in and it got easier as it went on.  303-7 is a pretty good effort and we’d like to get full batting points so we’ll see what happens.  Hopefully I can dig in deep and get three figures”, said Mustard.

Ian Blackwell made his County Championship debut for Durham and added 95 runs to the total, establishing a good partnership in the innings was essential to push for batting points and patience was vital, “As more senior players I think we’ve both learnt that you can’t just go in and crash and bang it all over the place and its obviously good that we batted for a bit of time aswell because they were bowling decent areas and we didn’t give it away and that’s testament to the metal we have in the side at the moment “, said Blackwell.

“I’m disappointed not to have got a hundred and to get out on the first over with the new ball but, we needed to pull something out of the bag and we managed to do that.  We’ve had a good day today, we need to kick on in the morning and get near that 400 mark.”

Play is scheduled to continue at 11.00am on Thursday 23 April.   Tickets are available on the gate priced at £15 for adults and £6 for juniors.

WR Smith (2) Captain
DM Benkenstein (44)
ID Blackwell (37)
MJ Di Venuto (23)
SJ Harmison (10)
GJ Muchall (24)
P Mustard (19) Wicket Keeper
G Onions (9)
LE Plunkett (20)
MD Stoneman (26)
CD Thorp (36)

JJ Sayers    (22)
JA Rudolph   (24)
MP Vaughan  (7)
A Mc Grath  (10)  Captain
AW Gale  (26)
GL Brophy  (20)  Wicket Keeper
TT Bresnan  (16)
A Rashid  (3)
SA Patterson  (17)
DJ Kruis  (5)
MJ Hoggard  (14)