Generated with Avocode. Generated with Avocode.
23rd September 2008

Harmy nominated for PCA Player of the Year

Paceman Harmison has been a key performer for Durham after starting the season out of the England picture.

On the basis of his form, he was persuaded to come out of limited-overs international retirement by new national team captain Kevin Pietersen.

Also nominated for the PCA Player of the Year award are Somerset’s Marcus Trescothick, Essex all-rounder Ravi Bopara and Kent’s South African batsman Martin van Jaarsveld.

Bopara has also been shortlisted for the young player of the year prize alongside Kent batsman Joe Denly, Nottinghamshire and England bowler Stuart Broad and Yorkshire’s Tim Bresnan.

The award winners will be voted for by the membership of the Professional Cricketers Association and the awards ceremony will take place on Monday September 29, at Old Billingsgate in London.