Generated with Avocode. Generated with Avocode.
22nd June 2009

Dynamos beat Derby by six wickets

It’s a sunny night, which has caused problems in the past, with it causing play to be delayed but we’ll hope that doesn’t happen this evening.  The lads are keen to get in the nets as soon as they arrive but have to wait until the Australian ladies side, who are staying at the hotel on site ahead of their match here on Thursday, finish their session.

The press area is situated opposite the main pavilion and next to that is the indoor school, which has quite a modern front, and also has hospitality boxes across the front. 

There will be a parade by Derby County Football Club before the game, who are celebrating their 125th anniversary.  Derby County FC was established as a bit if a sideline to bring an extra bit of money to the cricket club, which is why the football club played here in their early days (1844 to be exact!).  The Derbyshire Phantoms will also warming up in replica shirts from the 1844 season.

Will Smith wins the toss and elects to field first. The openers were dismissed within three overs leaving Derby 19-2.  Wagg was caught on 9 by Mustard off Mitchell Claydon, who was bowling from the Gateway End.  The following over Ben Harmison, bowling from the City End had Rodgers (10) caught by Killeen.

The metal sheet casting a shadow over the batsman to offer protection from the sun has been in place since the start of the match, however the umpires have stopped play in the fourth over because the batsmen can’t pick up the bowlers hand (and therefore the ball coming out of it) if it moves out of the line of the shadow. 

After a 30 minute delay play remumes with Neil Killeen completing his interrupted over.  Ian Blackwell came on at the City End to bowl the seventh over and trapped Greg Smith (22) leg before with the sixth ball, Derby 56-3.

Wavell Hinds added 23 to the score before he was bowled by Gareth Breese in the fourteenth over. Stuart Law (without his Mongoose!) scores 50 off 38 balls, which includes seven fours.

Sadler (13) spooned the ball in the air giving Neil Killeen a regulation catch at short third man in Claydon’s third over leaving Derby 134-5.  Stuart Law was run out an over later on 59.

Derby finished their innings with 153 on the board.

Some big hitting from openers David Warner and Phil Mustard saw Durham on 49 without loss after five overs.  David Warner’s fifty was hit off 29 balls and included eight fours and one six.  He was out a ball later after he was caught by Smith off the returning Wagg.  After 10 overs Durham were 109-1 compared with Derby’s 67-3.

Phil Mustard continued the hitting spree and brought up his fifty (off 28 balls) with a single having hit four boundaries and a six.  Kyle Coetzer added 16 before he was caught by Wagg at short mid wicket giving Haywood his first wicket for Derby.

Durham were 125-3 after Phil Mustard was caught by Mark Lawson off the bowling of Tim Groenewald for 52.  With four overs remaining Durham needed 15 runs, Dale Benkenstein (8*) and Ian Blackwell (8*) at the crease.

Benkenstein (14) was bowled by former Durham teammate Garry Park in the seventeenth over, bringing in captain Will Smith with nine runs required for victory.

Durham win by six wickets with two overs to spare. 

Durham Dynamos resume their Twenty20 Cup campaign at Derby tomorrow (23 June) when they face the Phantoms in a floodlit match at the County Ground.

Big hitting Australian David Warner is set to make his Twenty20 Cup debut and could line up alongside Kyle Coetzer, who returns to the Durham set up after some excellent individual performances for Scotland in the Twenty20 World Cup. 

Graham Onions is unavailable for selection due to international commitments.

The Men in Black’s next home fixture is on Wednesday (24 June) when local rivals Yorkshire Carnegie visit Riverside.  Play is scheduled to start at 6.00pm and tickets, which are priced at £15 for adults and £6 for juniors, can be purchased at the gate.  Tickets can also be purchased in advance (£12 for adults and £5 for juniors) by calling the Box Office on 0844 499 4466 or visiting

David Warner (18)
Phil Mustard (19)
Kyle Coetzer (30)
Dale Benkenstein (44)
Ian Blackwell (37)
Will Smith (2)
Gordon Muchall (24)
Gareth Breese (70)
Ben Harmison (14)
Mitchell Claydon (25)
Neil Killeen (77)
Scott Borthwick (16)