Generated with Avocode. Generated with Avocode.
8th September 2009

Durham v Notts Day 4 – Durham secure win!

Play starts and there’s a great size crowd at Riverside, where numbers expected to increase as the day goes on.  Harmison and Davies continue the Durham attack.

Liam Plunkett picked up two quick wickets within the opening four overs of his spell, with Patel caught by Coetzer for 44 and his replacement, Shafayat trapped lbw for 4, after a handful of balls, leaving Nottinghamshire 133-4.

Plunkett strikes again in the 48th over – bowling Hales for 62 – Nottingham 153-5.

At lunch Notts were 181-5 with Durham requiring one more wicket for that all important bonus point!

Notts were on 247 when Brown was caught behind off Davies for 59.  The scalp took Durham’s haul to six this innings, giving them a second bowling point, which means four points for a draw, along with the seven points accumulated so far, would see Durham retain their Championship title.

Liam Plunkett’s third wicket sent Hales back to the dressing room after he was bowled for 62. Chris Read battled through his thumb injury to put on 65 before he was caught by Benkenstein, taking Plunkett’s tally to four wickets and Nottinghamshire 269-7.

Not to be outdone, Davies claimed his fourth wicket, bowling Fletcher for just one after just four balls.  Notts were all out for 384 after Liam Plunkett added the final two wickets to his figures in the 100th and 102nd overs, with Ealham caught by Benkenstein one short of his fifty and Pattison caught behind on 59.

Durham enforced the follow on with Notts trailing by 264 and 16 overs remaining in the day.

Mitchell Claydon picked up the first wicket of Nott’s second innings when Newman (9) was caught by Plunkett with the score 21.  Nottingham were 48-2 when Wagh was cauught behind off Davies for 6.

At the close of play Notts were 52-2.

Michael Di Venuto and Will Smith were out within two overs of each other with stand in keeper Bilal Shafayat and Fletcher combining to leave Durham 382-3.  Di Venuto was caught behind off the first ball of the day, returning to the pavilion having scored 219.

Will Smith was caught down the leg side for 27.  Durham picked up their fifth batting point, passing the 400 mark, in the 106th over.

At lunch Durham were 470-3 with Benkenstein one short of his fifty and Chanderpaul 36*.  Benkenstein achieved his fifty from 106 balls, which included four fours and a six.  Chanderpaul went on to achieve his fifty from 103 balls, which included four boundaries.

As Benkenstein reached the 80’s he passed the thousand Championship runs mark, becoming the second Durham player to do so this season.  His century came off 169 deliveries and included eight fours and a six.

Benkenstein eventually was caught by Shafayat off the bowling of Hales for 105 leaving Durham 585-4.  

At tea Durham were 627-4 with Chanderpaul 99* and Blackwell 26*.

Chanderpaul’s century (207 balls, 7×4) brought the number of hundreds in the innings to four – another record!  Blackwell became Patel’s first victim after he was caught by Hales on 20.

Durham declared on 648-5 having achived a record total for Durham, which had previously been 645 from 2002 when they had played Middlesex at Lord’s.

Stephen Harmison, from the Finchale End, and Mark Davies, from the Lumley End, opened the Durham attack.  Davies picked up the first Notts wicket in his fourth over when Newman was trapped lbw on 16.

Davies took his second wicket shortly after when Wagh was caught at gully by Liam Plunkett for 3, leaving Nottinghamshire 33-2 after 16 overs.

Durham won the toss at Riverside this morning and elected to bat first.  Sky Sports News, BBC and ITV Tyne Tees covered the all important toss of the coin for what could be the potential title decider.

Andre Adams misses out for Notts having not passed a fitness test prior to the start of the game.

Durham – Coetzer, Di Venuto, Smith*, Chanderpaul, Benkenstein, Blackwell, Mustard, Plunkett, Claydon, Harmison, Davies

Notts – Newman, Hales, Wagh, Patel, Shafayat, Brown, Read, Ealham, Fletcher, Shreck, Pattison

Spells from the opening bowling attack, Shreck and Pattison, didn’t open the opening pair of Michael Di Venuto (44*) and Kyle Coetzer (41*) who guided Durham to 90 at the lunch break.  Fletcher bowled six overs before lunch with three over spells from Mark Ealham and Samit Patel.

Nottinghamshire’s Chris Read left the field with a hand injury, which required a hospital visit, just prior to the lunch break with Shafayat stepping in to keep wicket.

At lunch Durham were 90 without loss, with Di Venuto 44* and Coetzer 41*.

Di Venuto went on to score his century from 141 balls including 16 fours.  The pair went on to pass the highest opening partnership score in the Championship for Durham, which was 202.  Durham reached the 250 total in the 62nd over with Di Venuto and Coetzer looking untroubled by the Notts attack.

At tea Durham were 263 – 0 with Di Venuto 149* and Coetzer 94*.  

Six overs after tea Coetzer recorded his first Championship century of the season, which included 20 fours, off 215 balls.

Durham passed the 300 mark in the 79th over.  Durham were 314-1 after Kyle Coetzer was run out on 107 after being sent back to his crease after attempting a quick single. 

Will Smith was dropped on 0 off the bowling of Shafayat when Durham were 335-1.  Smith got off the mark with 5 runs, when, having run a quick single, a throw from the field to hit the stumps, the throw wasn’t backed up and the ball rolled to the boundary.

Di Venuto went on to become the first Durham player to score two double hundreds in a season, reaching the milestone, which included 20 fours, having faced 256 balls.

Durham finished the day on 377-1 and three bonus points in the bag (Di Venuto 219* and Smith 22*).

Durham County Cricket Club take on their nearest title rivals, Nottinghamshire CCC, in the LV= County Championship match at Riverside this week (Wed 9 – Sat 12 September).

The home side go into the game with a 27 point advantage plus a game in hand, which means a win would see Durham crowned Champions for the second successive year, but this time in front of a home crowd.

Head Coach Geoff Cook has named a twelve man squad for the game which includes Durham’s leading Championship wicket taker, Stephen Harmison and Shivnarine Chanderpaul, who will be keen to add to the century he scored last week against Somerset.

Durham are without Graham Onions who has been added to the England One Day squad and Callum Thorp (back) who is carrying an injury.

Keep up with the action as it happens via the Durham CCC website ( or Follow the match on Twitter (

BBC Radio Newcastle is doing ball by ball commentary of the match online, which can be accessed via

Tickets for days 1 and 2 (Wed 9/Thur 10 Sept) are available to purchase priced at £15 for adults and £6 for juniors.  Durham CCC is offering free admission for days 3 and 4 (Fri 11/Sat 12 Sept) to encourage fans to support Durham’s title bid.  Tickets for all days can be arranged via the Durham CCC Box Office, during office hours, on 0844 499 4466.

Michael Di Venuto (23)
Kyle Coetzer (30)
Will Smith (2) Captain
Dale Benkenstein (44)
Shivnarine Chanderpaul (3)
Ian Blackwell (37)
Phil Mustard (19) Wicket keeper
Liam Plunkett (20)
Mitchell Claydon (25)
Mark Davies (4)
Stephen Harmison (10)
Gareth Breese (70)