Generated with Avocode. Generated with Avocode.
23rd July 2009

Durham Dynamos beat Gloucestershire Gladiators at Cheltenham

James Franklin opens the bowling for Gloucestershire at the College Lawn End, with Phil Mustard nudging the first ball of the innings for a quick single, and Jon Lewis takes the ball at the Chapel End.

Durham were 14-1 after Phil Mustard (6) is caught by Richard Dawson off the first ball of Franklin’s second over.  Steve Kirby comes on at the Chapel End to bowl the fourth over with Franklin, who is hit for a huge 6 which goes right back over the bowlers head and over the marquees around the boundary, continues at the opposite end.

Blackwell hits a quickfire 23 before he is caught by Franklin off Kirby in the 6th over, leaving Durham 31-2.

Will Smith added 8 to the Dynamos total before he was caught by Kadeer Ali off the bowling of Lewis inthe 10th over – Durham 56-3.

Steve Kirby picks up his second wicket in the 11th over after Dale Benkenstein is caught behind by Adshead for 2.  Durham passed the hundred mark in the 20th over with Ben Harmison (35*) and Kyle Coetzer (25*) at the crease.  In the next over the pair brought up their fifty partnership.

Durham were 125-5 once Ben Harmison (47) was caught by Porterfield off Chris Taylor in the 26th over.  Gareth Breese (13) was caught on the boundary by David Brown which gave Richard Dawson his first wicket of the game.

Kyle Coetzer reached the fifty mark having faced 70 balls, hitting four four’s and one six.  He went on to score 63 before being bowled by Dawson in the 36th over.

Liam Plunkett was caught by Taylor off Kirby for 19 the following over and his replacement, Mitchell Claydon, was bowled without scoring, leaving Durham 188-9.

Will Gidman was the last wicket to fall, with two balls remaining of the Durham innings, when he was caught by Brown off Lewis for 8.

Durham finished with 206 on the board.

Neil Killeen opened the bowling for Durham from the College Lawn End, sending Kadeer Ali back to the pavilion without scoring after he was trapped lbw off the first delivery – Gloucestershire 0-1

Alex Gidman leaves the field hurt after he is struck on the nose by a delivery from Mitchell Claydon, bowling from the Chapel End, in the fourth over.

A double bowling change in the 9th and 10th over saw Liam Plunkett come on at the College Lawn End and Ben Harmison at the Chapel End.

Gareth Breese came on at the Chapel End in the 16th over and in the first over James Franklin was run out by Ben Harmison for 21.  Will Porterfield went on to pass the fifty mark having hit six fours and 2 sixes and having faced 55 balls.

Ian Blackwell had Hamish Marshall caught behind for 0, in his first over from the College Lawn End, leaving the Gladiators 80-3.  Gloucestershire passed the 100 mark in their 22nd over.

Will Porterfield (62) was caught by Will Gidman at short mid wicket giving Blackwell his second wicket of the match.  Shortly after, Chris Taylor was convincingly run out by Kyle Coetzer in the following over, bowled by Gareth Breese, leaving the Gladiators 104-5.  In the same over Adshead was caught by Benkenstein for 0.

Gloucestershire were 104-7 after David Brown was bowled by Blackwell the following over.  Jon Lewis passes the fifty mark but then is caught on the boundary by Harmison off Blackwell for 54 in 36th over which sees Alex Gidman return to the crease with a runner.

With four overs remaining the hosts require 17 to win.  Liam Plunkett resumed at the Chapel End for the 38th over and had Richard Dawson caught by Will Smith for 31, leaving Gloucestershire 195-9.

Gloucestershire required two runs off the last over for victory but Kirby was caught behind off Plunkett for 16 with 5 balls to spare.

Durham Dynamos travel to Cheltenham to face Gloucestershire Gladiators at Cheltenham College on Friday (24 July) looking for their first win in the competition after losing out against Yorkshire Carnegie last weekend.

Head Coach Geoff Cook has named the same thirteen man squad which includes Will Gidman, who made his One Day debut against the same opposition earlier in the season in the Friends Provident Trophy.

Ian Blackwell (37)
Phil Mustard (19) Wicket keeper
Will Smith (2) Captain
Ben Harmison (14)
Dale Benkenstein (44)
Gareth Breese (70)
Kyle Coetzer (30)
Liam Plunkett (20)
Neil Killeen (77)
Mitchell Claydon (25)
Will Gidman (21)
Scott Borthwick (16)
Mark Stoneman (26)