Generated with Avocode. Generated with Avocode.
29th June 2009

Durham beat Worcestershire by 5 five wickets

Beautiful sunshine at Riverside this morning although not the most favourable conditions to be fielding in! Mitchell Claydon completed the over which was interrupted by the threat of lightning last night and Callum Thorp takes the ball at the opposite end.

After the bowling change, which saw Liam Plunkett come on at the Finchale End and Mark Davies at the Lumley End, Davies had Mitchell (15) caught at second slip by Michael Di Venuto in the fourth over of his spell.

Kyle Coetzer picked up two catches before lunch, Ali off Plunkett for 10 and Smith off Thorp for just 3, leaving Worcestershire 66-3 at the break.

Mitchell Claydon claimed his first wicket of the innings after Wheeldon was caught by Michael Di Venuto without scoring.  Kervezee reached 50 off 105 balls which included five fours.

Ian Blackwell picked up his first wicket of the match when Ashley Noffke was caught by Phil Mustard on 11.  Kervezee (66) was Plunkett’s second victim of the day after he was caught by Mustard. Gareth Batty was bowled by Plunkett for 4 and Mustard featured again, catching Knappett off Blackwell for 1.

Liam Plunkett bumped his match haul to 11- 119 after bowling Wheelan for 21 and picking up the wicket of Mason, who was caught by Callum Thorp.

Durham therefore require 179 to win, with 22 overs remaining today and a full day tomorrow.  Kyle Coetzer put on 15 before being caught behind off Noffke, leaving Durham 47-1.

At the close of play Durham were 64-1

Durham resumed on 40-3 but Ali and Mason both struck within 40 minutes, with Knappett catching Benkenstein (25) off Ali and Mason bowling the replacement batsman, Ian Blackwell, for 1 which left the hosts 59-5.

Kyle Coetzer was dismissed for 30 after he was bowled by Ali, his fourth wicket of the match.  Phil Mustard and Liam Plunkett put on 46 before the latter was caught by Gareth Batty, giving Mason his third wicket of the innings.  Callum Thorp came in with Durham 105-7.

At lunch Durham were 132-7.

Callum Thorp (17) was trapped lbw by Ali in the 44th over as Durham were 140-8.  MItchell Claydon scored 6 before he was caught by Knappett, becoming Ali’s sixth victim.  

Phil Mustard hit a patient fifty off 82 balls, which included eight fours. Mark Davies was bowled by Wheelan for 6 with Durham all out for 194, Phil Mustard unbeaten on 63.

Dark clouds and rumbling thunder had slowly been approching the Riverside throughout the afternoon and with lightning also making an appearance just one ball was bowled in Worcestershire’s second innings before the sides returned to the dressing room.

Tea was taken early at 3.10pm and the covers were brought on shortly after due to the threat of rain.  Play was abandoned for the day ay 5.20pm due to heavy rain.

Durham captain Will Smith won the toss and elected to field first.  

Durham – Di Venuto, Coetzer, Smith, Benkenstein, Blackwell, Muchall, Mustard, Plunkett, Thorp, Claydon, Davies.
Worcestershire – Kerrvezee, Mitchell, Ali, Smith, Wheeldon, Noffke, Batty, Knappet, Kabir Ali, Whelan, Mason.

Callum Thorp and Mitchell Claydon opened the Durham attack with Kervezee and Mitchell opening the batting for Worcestershire.  With six consecutive maidens between the two bowlers Worcestershire scored slowly in the first hour.  

Mark Davies was brought on at the Lumley End in the 13th over, and went on to mark his first appearance in the County Championship this season with a wicket in his second over, Kervezee (6) edging the ball to Michael Di Venuto at second slip.

Liam Plunkett had Mitchell caught behind on 13 leaving Worcestershire 26-2.  Callum Thorp was brought on at the Finchale End for a second spell in the 26th over.  The visitors were 56-3 after Liam Plunkett caught Ali on 9 off the bowling of Dale Benkenstein.

At lunch Worcestershire were 60-3.

Two wickets fell in the eight overs played after lunch leaving Worcs 80-5.  Smith was bowled having scored 33 off 55 balls, becoming Claydon’s first victim and in the following over Wheeldon (7) was caught by Michael Di Venuto off Callum Thorp.

Plunkett picked up his second wicket of the day, bowling captain Gareth Batty for 19 in the 56th over, leaving Worcestershire 137-6.

Noffke reached his fifty in 117 balls, including seven fours but was the first of two victims of Liam Plunkett in the 76th over after he was caught by Phil Mustard without adding to his total.  Kabir Ali was out two balls later when he was caught at gully by Callum Thorp on 28 leaving Worcestershire 187-7.

Plunkett claimed his fifth wicket of the innings bowling Whelan for 0 in the following over.  It was only right that Plunkett went on to record a first class career best of 6-63 after Mason was caught by Thorp having scored just 2.  Worcestershire finished their innings with 193 on the board, with Durham claiming three bowling points.

Durham were 1-3 after four overs with Michael Di Venuto and his replacement Will Smith being bowled by consecutive balls from Kabir Ali, both without scoring.  Gordon Muchall (0) was caught by Josh Knappett, off the bowling of Mason.

At the close of play on day one Durham were 40-3 with Kyle Cotzer (20*) and Dale Benkenstein (18*)set to return to the crease in the morning.

Durham return to LV= County Championship action at the top of the division one table and will face Worcestershire at Riverside this week (Tue 30 June – Fri 3 July).

Geoff Cook has named a twelve man squad for the match which includes Mark Davies, who returned from injury last week playing for the Second Eleven, taking a wicket with his first ball.  After his appearance in Sunday’s Twenty20 Cup match against Leicestershire, following a groin injury, Liam Plunkett is also included.

Kyle Coetzer is likely to come in for Mark Stoneman who is still suffering from thigh strain which occurred in Durham’s LVCC match against Warwickshire at Edgbaston. 

Graham Onions and Stephen Harmison are currently on England Lions duty and therefore unavailable for selection.

KJ Coetzer (30)
MJ Di Venuto (23)
WR Smith (2) Captain
GJ Muchall (24)
DM Benkenstein (44)
ID Blackwell (37)
P Mustard (19) Wicket Keeper
BW Harmsion (14)
LE Plunkett (20)
CD Thorp (36)
M Davies (4)
ME Claydon (25)