Generated with Avocode. Generated with Avocode.
13th November 2008

Durham Announce 2009 Squad

Captain Dale Benkenstein and opening batsman Michael Di Venuto have extended contracts to remain at Riverside until 2011 and they will be joined by Durham Academy graduates Ben Harmison, Phil Mustard, Graham Onions, Liam Plunkett and Mark Stoneman who have also agreed terms to stay at the Club until 2011.  

Gareth Breese, Mitchell Claydon, Kyle Coetzer, Mark Davies, Gordon Muchall, Will Smith and Callum Thorp will be at the Club until at least the end of 2010. 

The remainder of the squad, Luke Evans, Lee Goddard, Will Gidman, Neil Killeen and Paul Wiseman have committed for the 2009 season.

Leg spinner Scott Borthwick, who made his Twenty20 debut this season, has been offered his first professional contract which will see him at Riverside until the end of 2010.

Paul Hindmarch, Karl Turner and Paul Muchall have been offered Development contracts for 2009. 

The only two players that won’t be returning to Riverside in 2009 are Gary Scott, whose contract was not renewed, and Garry Park, who has signed a two year deal with Derbyshire.  

Chief Executive David Harker said, “The players have worked incredibly hard to get the squad to where they are today and are understandably keen to work with us to ensure that Durham’s future on the pitch continues to be a bright one.  With both the first and second team bringing Championship trophies back to Riverside we now have to build on and maintain the core of the successful team, continuing to nurture the young talent we have brought through our Academy.”
Membership of Durham County Cricket Club is the best way to follow all the action in 2009 – admission to all home LV County Championship, Friends Provident Trophy and NatWest Pro40 matches is included offering you top class cricket at fantastic value for money.

Special offers for Twenty20 Cup tickets are also included, plus priority booking for future international at Riverside and bi-annual copies of the Members Magazine Riverside Review posted directly to your door.

For full details on Durham County Cricket Club Membership contact the Box Office, during office hours, on 0844 499 4466 or visit the website,