Generated with Avocode. Generated with Avocode.
16th August 2023 News

Ben Stokes comes out of ODI retirement and is named in squad for New Zealand series alongside Mark Wood

The England Men’s selection panel has named the squads for the upcoming Metro Bank One-Day International Series and Vitality IT20 Series against New Zealand.

Ben Stokes returns to the England Men’s ODI set-up after deciding to reverse his decision to retire from the format while uncapped Surrey quick Gus Atkinson is included in the 15-player squad.

The squad for the four-match Vitality IT20 Series against the Blackcaps includes three players who are uncapped in the 20-over format – Atkinson, Josh Tongue and John Turner.

Tongue made his England debut during the drawn LV= Insurance Men’s Ashes Series earlier this summer while Hampshire right-armer Turner makes his first England squad.

England Men’s National Selector, Luke Wright, said: “We have been able to name two extremely strong squads that underline the depth of talent we enjoy in white-ball cricket.

“The return of Ben Stokes only adds to that quality with his match-winning ability and leadership. I am certain that every fan will enjoy seeing him back in an England ODI shirt again.


“We’re also excited to give first international call-ups to both Gus Atkinson and John Turner while Josh Tongue has deserved a place in the T20 squad after impressing during the Ashes.

“Any series against New Zealand is closely fought and will provide us with an ideal opportunity to test ourselves against one of the best teams in the world.”

England Men ODI squad: Jos Buttler (Lancashire – captain), Moeen Ali (Warwickshire), Gus Atkinson (Surrey), Jonny Bairstow (Yorkshire), Sam Curran (Surrey), Liam Livingstone (Lancashire), Dawid Malan (Yorkshire), Adil Rashid (Yorkshire), Joe Root (Yorkshire), Jason Roy (Surrey) ,Ben Stokes (Durham), Reece Topley (Surrey), David Willey (Northamptonshire), Mark Wood (Durham) Chris Woakes (Warwickshire)

England Men IT20 squad: Jos Buttler (Lancashire – captain), Rehan Ahmed (Leicestershire), Moeen Ali (Warwickshire), Gus Atkinson (Surrey), Jonny Bairstow (Yorkshire), Harry Brook (Yorkshire), Sam Curran (Surrey), Ben Duckett (Nottinghamshire), Will Jacks (Surrey), Liam Livingstone (Lancashire), Dawid Malan (Yorkshire), Adil Rashid (Yorkshire) Josh Tongue (Worcestershire), John Turner (Hampshire), Luke Wood (Lancashire)

England Men v New Zealand – Vitality IT20 Series schedule

1st Vitality IT20: Seat Unique Riverside, Chester-le-Street – 30 August

2nd Vitality IT20: Emirates Old Trafford, Manchester – 1 September

3rd Vitality IT20: Edgbaston, Birmingham – 3 September

4th Vitality IT20: Trent Bridge, Nottingham – 5 September

England Men v New Zealand – Metro Bank One-Day Series schedule

1st Metro Bank ODI: Sophia Gardens, Cardiff – 8 September

2nd Metro Bank ODI: The Ageas Bowl, Southampton – 10 September

3rd Metro Bank ODI: The Kia Oval, London – 13 September

4th Metro Bank ODI: Lord’s, London – 15 September

Related Articles


Peter Siddle signs for County Championship


Durham partner with Wickes as Metro Bank One Day Cup partner


Mark Wood named as one of the Five Wisden Cricketers of the Year


Durham Cricket set for take-off with Teesside International Airport extension